The UKStar legacy

Wow!!!

I’m back from the inaugural UKStar event in London, where I was privileged to co-present a talk with   on communication, and it seemed to go down really well. But that’s not the only reason that it was such an enjoyable time.

The venue – County Hall, with a view across Westminster Bridge to Parliament and Big Ben. As a Londoner I have never managed to see the view from there so it was something special. I do have to say that etc.venues did a good job of keeping us fed and watered, and the guys at Eurostar who organised the event were great. They all seemed to really enjoy the event and were super helpful.

The talks – so many great ones and I missed a couple due to clashes that I would love to have been in, but then thats always the case with dual tracks.
I attended the ‘Hey what just Hackened’ half day session with Declan O’Riordan, which helped us look at security testing in a new light, the keynote with Maaret Pyhäjärvi & Llewellyn Falco on the concept of Mob Testing was something new to me. I also enjoyed seeing Paul Collis of the FCA (who I know from the Test Management Forums) do his first conference talk about the transformation of the testing function, Dan Ashby & Hannah Mason speaking about the mentoring and learning opportunities at the Software Testing Clinic (http://www.softwaretestingclinic.com/) and also Stephen Janaway’s journey from Test Management to a broader Software Delivery Manager role gave me a lot of food for thought (http://stephenjanaway.co.uk). The talks were inspiring and I really like the fact that new speakers were encouraged.

The atmosphere – there was a noticable buzz for the whole two days, with so much interaction going on. I think this is one of the best things about any conference – a chance to meet old friends and make new ones, which I did during the Tuesday morning Lean Coffee session, ad-hoc chats over coffee and lunch, and a very nice evening meal after the Monday evening drinks.

So – would I encourage people to attend a conference? Yes! Choose carefully though, as there are many and you want to go to one with a good range of talks so you can maximise the opportunities to learn, contribute to discussions and network.

Would I encourage new speakers to apply? Absolutely! I’m really pleased to see a change in focus at events to actively encourage new speakers, and I will be helping at the BCS to mentor someone this year. I will also speak to Dan Ashby about opportunities to give something back to the testing community.

If you commit to do just one thing this year, then go to a great conference. Be challenged, learn new things and meet new people. What have you got to lose?

One thought on “The UKStar legacy

Leave a Reply

